IDPA 2020-12-21T18:55:13-05:00

Welcome to the new IDPA web page of the AGC.

PLEASE start at this link if you are New to IDPA Mid-Atlantic –

If you are NEW to IDPA, check out what IDPA is by visiting their website  –

If you are still NEW, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read/skim the Rule Book as it tells you the gear you need etc –

You don’t have to JOIN PractiScore but it’s easier if you do and it DOES NOT COST ANYTHING! PractiScore Web site –

What it’s like to shoot an IDPA Match –

Message from the IDPA Chairman: IDPA is an exciting sport addition to the AGC. And to make it successful it will require a certain level of volunteer help as has any of the other successful types of competitions and events. I ask you to please help out when and where needed. -gw

Divisions and Classifications

One of the competitive principles of IDPA is that shooters should compete only against other shooters who are at similar skill level and who use similar equipment. Members of IDPA are classified as to skill level and placed in a division according to the kind of gun they shoot. When you shoot a match, your performance will be judged only against those in the same division who hold the same classification.


IDPA groups firearms into five divisions, as follows:

Custom Defensive Pistol (CDP) (semi-autos chambered in .45 ACP only)

Enhanced Service Pistol (ESP) (semi-autos, including single-action, chambered for 9mm or larger, with some modifications allowed)

Stock Service Pistol (SSP) (double-action, double-action/single action, and “safe action” semi-autos [Glock] chambered for 9mm or larger caliber with few modifications allowed)

Enhanced Service Revolver (ESR) (.38 caliber or larger double action revolvers with moon clips allowed)

Stock Service Revolver (SSR) (.38 caliber or larger double-action revolvers, moon clips not allowed).


IDPA members are classified by skill level ranging from Novice (NV), to Marksman (MM), to Sharpshooter (SS), to Expert (EX), and, finally, to Master (MA). Classifications are based either on the shooter’s performance in a classifier match, or by his or her performance in a major, As a new shooter, you will start out unclassified. In the final results for your first match, you’ll be grouped with other unclassified shooters in your division (CDP, SSP, etc). If you decide that IDPA matches are fun and you want to continue to participate (and why wouldn’t you?), you’ll need to shoot a classifier match to determine your initial classification. We will try to hold a classifier match  at least four times a year. The classifier consists of three stages and requires a minimum of 90 rounds. It will test all of your shooting skills, including one-handed shooting, reloading, and shooting while on the move. It’s a good test of overall shooting skills. Your results in the classifier (raw time plus points down—just like in a regular match) will determine your classification. Download the IDPA rulebook for a complete description of the classifier.